France 2011

What did I do in France, you ask? Except eating? Well, what I like the most: READING! Apart from the usual things (best/most interesting/funniest ones can be found: HERE)

I READ BOOKS:
(1) Create Your Own Economy by Tyler Cowen.
Great book. It’s been a while since I “learned” (& “questioned”) so much about myself. Highly fascinating and interesting first few chapters. Later on it gets a bit weaker.

Here is a youtube video interviewing the author. I found the part about autism/neurodiversity most interesting (in the video he starts talking about it ~2:40) – might write down some thoughts on that. A short review can be found here: The autistic macroeconomist; most imp. part: […] he is not talking about autism as a mental illness, but rather a certain way of thinking, which may be partly genetic.)

(2) Animal Spirits by Akerlof & Shiller
Nice introduction to some macroeconomic concepts and what they are lacking. Not too simple, but not too difficult either, usually everything is well explained. Conclusive chapters were too repetitive and it got a little boring. Buchrezension (Deutsch).

(3) The Undercover Economist by Tim Harford
Good overview to basic economic principles explained with the help of some entertaining examples. It certainly convinced me to buy his new book (Adapt: Why Success Always Starts with Failure) after I work through my backlog (Black Swan, Common Wealth, Quantum, The Big Short, The Rational Optimist etc. etc. etc.). Btw. never buy fairtrade coffee. Hoax. Total crap.

(4) Poke the Box by Seth Godin
Very quick read (like 2h?). If you follow his blog, then I don’t think you have to read it. Just read his blog.

(5) Confessions of a Mad Man by George Parker
The TV Series as a book, a short one. I was a bit disappointed though. It contained some funny moments, but generally it left me waiting for something ‘mind-blowing’. Nonetheless you get some nice stories about the advertisement business.

(6) Too Big to Fail by Andrew R. Sorkin
It actually reads more like a financial thriller (movie here – hopefully will air in Bamberg.). At first I was a bit disappointed by the lack of ‘technical’ information, however I soon got caught up in the quick pace of what happened ‘back then’ in NYC the world. Most of the ‘players’ (Geithner, Bernanke, Dimon, Buffet, Blankfein etc.) are still around. Bank of America seems to be in a similar position as Lehman Brothers was at that time (OK, they tried to get Buffet’s money but didn’t succeed, BofA did). If you want an easy accessible description/explanation about the failure of LB, you should consider reading it.

(7) The Theory of Moral Sentiments by Adam Smith
This one was (and IS; I’m only at ~20%) a little harder to read. Although it rarely provides me with new insights, it does provide me with better phrasing abilities of my (sometimes) intuitively-reached conclusions.

And I also want to thank my Kindle for being so awesome. Fuck paper, papers & print.

2 thoughts on “France 2011

  1. Pingback: Book Review – The Depths: The Evolutionary Origins of the Depression Epidemic | Seeing Beyond The Absurd

  2. Pingback: Older Reading Pile | Seeing Beyond the Absurd

Leave a Reply

