Some Of My Favorite Intros

In no particular order. Vox.com also has an article about a study of TV intros.

1. The Sopranos – “Woke Up This Morning” by Alabama 3

2. Attack on Titan – “Guren no Yumiya” by Linked Horizon
At the moment (=back in October/November 2013) “Attack on Titan” is *the* anime to watch. Although I (always) prefer to read the manga.

3. Game of Thrones – “Game of Thrones” by Ramin Djawadi

4. Saber Rider – “Saber Rider Theme” by Dale Schacker
I don’t think that I’ve ever watched a single episode of Saber Rider, but I really like the opening song. It’s kitschy, but very well made kitsch: CAN YOU FEEL THE THUNDER INSIDE?! *WHIPCRACK*

5. True Detective – “Far From Any Road” by The Handsome Family

6. Baccano – “Guns & Roses” by Paradise Lunch
Another great anime intro for one of the very best anime series.

7. Darker Than Black – “Howling” by abingdon boys school

8. Dexter – “Dexter Main Title” by Rolfe Kent

9. Pumpkin Scissors – “Aoki Flamme” by Youko Takahashi
Psshh! I actually, kindaaa, enjoy the ED as well… the anime itself is not particularly good though.

10. Ergo Proxy – “Kiri” by Monoral

11. Elfenlied – “Lilium” by Kumiko Noma
IT HAS LATIN GOD DAMN IT.

12. Cowboy Bebop – “Tank” by The Seatbelts
Cowboy Bebop actually has a very good overall soundtrack (unlike most other anime), as well.

13. Entourage – “Superhero” by Jane’s Addiction
What would the American TV landscape look like without HBO? I don’t think anyone would be even able to locate it on a map.

14. Boardwalk Empire – “Straight Up And Down” by The Brian Jonestown Massacre

15. Tatort – Tatort by Klaus Doldinger
I hate Tatort. A lot. I thought my generation would put an end to it, but it doesn’t look like it… I really like the intro though.

Leave a Reply

